Bohemian Eden

Monochrome outfit fedora hat

Monochrome outfit fedora hat
Monochrome outfit fedora hat

Stacking rings Watch Accessories details

Gladiator sandals outfit

“Those ancients who in poetry presented
the golden age, who sang its happy state,
perhaps, in their Parnassus, dreamt this place.
Here, mankind’s root was innocent; and here
were every fruit and never-ending spring;
these streams–the nectar of which poets sing.”
― Dante Alighieri, The Divine Comedy

The gardens at the Alphen Boutique Hotel’s doorstep present a responsive and charming landscape in which one can find oneself totally immersed. Constantia (Cape Town) is an impeccable suburb with manicured lawns and the most stunning arrangement of wildlife integrated with unrivalled architecture that makes one reminiscent of perhaps an old-Hollywood movie set in Europe somewhere.

As you can see, I had lots of fun shooting these photographs with my Mom. She is quite a natural photographer, don’t you think? My Dad jokes that it’s not her natural capability, but rather the capabilities of the DSLR camera that he got for me. When these conversations open up, I tend to stay neutral like the Swiss…

This outfit, curiously, is made up of my favourite pieces, but is not something I would usually wear as a whole. Nonetheless,  I love to wear monochrome and neutrals – a simple Bohemian look like this can still be sophisticated in beautiful black and white! Cropped white jeans are in vogue and especially cool for the summer. I have an awful problem with my height though (the problem being that I am quite short), and so cropped jeans just turn out to be extremely well-fitted skinny jeans. At least I can find jeans to suit my height, even though it’s by accident! The black shirt is a personal favourite because of it’s versatility – it can be paired with like, everything. It is also slouchy, which I love for the blistering Cape Town weather, because it gives my skin some decent room to breathe. The fedora hat is yet another trendy piece right now. I like to match mine with blouses and interesting pants, like palazzos or ripped/skinny jeans.

I am wearing my 67 minutes bracelet – the 67 is representative of the 67 years which Nelson Mandela sacrificed for our country in his quest to rid South Africa of Apartheid and its evils. And we can just use 67 minutes of our time towards the betterment of this world in some small contribution. If you would like to learn more about the 67 minutes for Madiba, please click on this link. If you would like to know who Nelson Mandela is, uhhhmmm… No comment…

Anyway, I hope that you like this outfit post. Please drop your comments below and let me know what you think.

Lots of love,

Raeesa xx

Outfit Details: –

Slouchy black shirt – Forever New

White cropped jeans – Forever New

Wool fedora hat – H&M

Rings – Lovisa

Floral backpack – Forever New

Bracelet – Purchased at the Robben Island Prison Museum

Watch – Michel Herbelin

Gladiator sandals – Woolworths

Leave a Reply

