Last of the Summer Days & Short People Problems

Layered necklaces trend

Hello to all my beautiful readers 🙂

I’m so excited to be engaging you with a new Lookbook after what feels like ages. Unfortunately, South Africa is experiencing a seasonal shift-over, and I won’t be doing a lot of Summer related fashion posts after this one. Fortunately for me, I now get to have fun with layering, textures, luxurious fabrics and all sorts of Winter fashion wonders that I’ve been really missing during the Summer season. Any stylish lady will agree that there’s just so much more that we can do with ourselves in the Fall/Winter than in the Summer! This is when it’s time to break out the gorgeous faux furs, leather moto jackets, thigh-high show stopping boots, cashmere sweaters, musky jasmine fragrances and sumptuous face moisturisers! And the list doesn’t even stop there… This has me thinking that it’s probably also the most expensive time of year!!!

Anyway, enough about my excitement for the upcoming season. This post is actually dedicated to Summer, and I thought that perhaps my readers over in the US and other European countries would really appreciate a little Lookbook that caters to them as well! 🙂

I created this look around a single piece that I picked up at Woollies here in Cape Town… The maxi sleeveless jacket! It is totally different to other sleeveless jackets because of the fabric which is soft and flowing in the wind, instead of structured and business-like. At the same time, its got a black edginess to it and the zip is strong and bold in its own right. I just love the length on me! It would’ve appeared a bit shorter on a woman who is taller than me (which counts as almost the entire human race, I think).

 Also, I am dying for boyfriend jeans and ripped denims at the moment. Yes, I might’ve mentioned this before somewhere along the line. And YES, I know that this sounds rather cliché because everybody is wearing them, but the fit makes me so thrilled. Sometimes it’s really difficult to be a short person and then add into the mix that I have a pear shaped figure… I am left with having to select my clothing items with extreme caution and exercising careful consideration on how the piece is fitting me. There’s been so many times that I try to buy skinny jeans that look like they were loose and bunched up at my ankles. This is like a vicious cycle of pants not being made for shorter ladies. Somebody please fix this problem ASAP! The cropped pants trend is more forgiving towards my height, but I know it’s going to be back to the tailor with me after this trend fades away.

Sorry about the digression…Back to the fashion talk – as I was saying, boyfriend jeans is just so comfortable on me – it’s impossible to not enjoy wearing them!

I accessorised with all of my favourite go-to pieces, and layered three necklaces together to capture the layering trend, but on my own terms. Sometimes I just think it’s better to remember that you must not lose your sense of individuality in the pursuit of trying to be ‘so hot right now’ – strike a balance… If you prefer this look with a pretty choker, then that also goes well with the outfit.

South African fashion blog lookbook

Fashion blog lookbook boyfriend jeans black shirt

Fashion blog lookbook with boyfriend jeans and black shirt

Yellow gold and marble spike cuff bracelet

Fashion blog lookbook with boyfriend jeans and black shirt

Gladiator booties Aldo shoes

Outfit Details:

Sleeveless maxi jacket –   Woolworths

Black shirt with gold button detail – Forever New

Ripped boyfriend jeans –   Forever New

Exotic leather carry-all –   Jimmy Choo

First necklace from the top – Purchased at a Saudi Arabian gold souk

Second necklace (with crystal ball pendant) – Swarovski

Third necklace –    Purchased at a Saudi Arabian gold souk

Yellow gold cuff bracelet with dendritic opal spike – Zunette Mulder jewellery

Strappy black and bone booties – Aldo shoes

Leave a Reply

